GUM STAND BAPTIST CHURCH

Gum Stand Baptist Church of Christ organized November 25, 1934. At that time, a band of brethren and sisters met at McCookville School at 2 p.m. with the following council to consider organizing a Missionary Baptist Church: Reverends Beecher Ownby, Noah Ogle, and Lornce Shults. Deacons on the council were A. M. Robertson, S. C. Loveday, and Sam Maples.

The first song was "How Beautiful Heaven Must Be" and Reverend Noah Ogle read a scriptural lesson from Acts 1:1-14. Reverend Ogle then led in prayer and the council elected Reverend Beecher Ownby moderator. Reverend Lornce Shults served as clerk. A motion carried to organize a church and letters were collected and read with the following people received as charter members:

Mr. and Mrs. I. A. Ogle, Willie Mae Ogle, M. S. Miller, Martha Miller, Reverend C. R. Sutton, Lillie Brackins, Reverend M. H. Roark, Reverend and Mrs. Levi Ogle, Susie Ogle, Mr. and Mrs. Dock Ogle, Lou Ogle, and Demaris Carr.

On motion, the church was named GUM STAND. The church covenant in Pendleton's "Church Manual for Baptist Church" was read and the church accepted it as their covenant. The Declaration of Faith in the same Manual was adopted. Reverend M. H. Roark was elected pastor and C. R. Sutton clerk. The second and fourth Sundays were set for meeting times. Reverend Noah Ogle gave the church its charge, and then adjourned. Minutes were signed, Reverend Beecher Ownby, Moderator, and Lornce Shults, Clerk.

The church continued holding services in the school house until the first church building was built in approximately 1948. In about 1967, the State of Tennessee purchased the land on which the first church building had been built. In 1969, the present church building was completed and dedicated.

The following pastors have served at Gum Stand Baptist Church: M. H. Roark, J. P. Davis, James Franklin, Jason A. Baker, Otha O. McCarter, L. E. Wilhoite, Colie O'Shields, John Williams, Kenneth Williams, Clarence Wilson, L. L. Whaley, Al Smith, Perry Chestney, Edward Parton, Ray Ogle, Ray Chandler, Orville Parton, A. J. Porterfield, Earl Lane, Roy Caldwell, Donald Rolen, David A. Cole, and Ronald Reagan.